SOCC ‘Save Our Clock’ Fundraising Update

clockhouseThe Save our Clock Campaign Committee has now been formed and includes: Jerry Coade, Sally Coade, David Greenshields, Dave Dallas and Lyn Crisp. Co members are Sue Wheeler, Mark Oborne, Heather Pepper and Anna Dunn.  Many fund raising events have been organised for the next few months including a Sponsored Fun Walk, Big Breakfast, Duck Race etc.,  We hope many will support these events.

Update on The Clock. A new Contractor has now been appointed and work on Stage One is underway.  Stage One hopes to make the building a watertight shell, i.e. creation of roof, exterior walls and windows installed.  The scaffolding can then be removed.  Stage Two will follow, funding permitting, with the creation of interior walls, ceilings, electrity, gas, plumbing, woodwork, etc., All works have to comply with Buildings Regulations and Listed Buildings permission.  Due to the Grade II Listed status of The Clock House materials have to be sourced and work undertaken to protect the historic fabric of the building. This both adds to the cost of materials and timescales of work.

Fundraising is essential and whilst some amounts raised may seem small in the scheme of things – it is the skirting board for one of the girls bedrooms or a sink for the bathroom. Whilst we in the village want our pub back also I am sure Mike & Helen would love their home back.

Lyn Crisp SOCC Fundraising Committee